MPS Youth Based Policing Awards 2023

On Friday 6th October, the Met Police Youth Policy Team hosted the Met's third annual Youth Based Policing Awards to recognise the fantastic achievements of police officers in London.

The event was opened with a welcome message and gratitude of thanks by Commissioner Sir Mark Rowley. The special guest in attendance was Deputy Assistant Commissioner Matthew Ward, and colleagues from the Mayor’s Office for Policing and Crime, as well as family members also attended.

Awards given were:

  • Youth Supervisor of the Year: Sergeant Shannon Farthing
  • Youth Project of the Year: 'Choices' run by PC Haley Lazarus, PC Roy Baird and PC Mark Pywell
  • Building Trust and Confidence Award: PC Andy Palmer
  • Pupil Referral Unit Officer if the Year: PC Callum James
  • Youth Engagement and Diversion Officer of the Year: PC Simon Odong
  • Safer Schools Partnership of the Year: University Academy of Engineering (UAE) and PC Kypros Kyriacou
  • Youth Based Policing Officer of the Year (announced by Commissioner Sir Mark Rowley): PC Mark Watson

Borough Safer Schools Officers of the Year:
Barking and Dagenham: PC Valerie Gill
Barnet: PC Ratannaporn Saleerat
Bexley: PC Mark Watson
Brent: PC Tony Joyce
Bromley: PC Adam Brenson
Camden: PC Nengi Etela
Croydon: PC Chris Allen
Ealing: PC Abigail Netto
Enfield: PC Andy Palmer
Greenwich: PC Laura Shead
Hackney: PC Adam Warby
Hammersmith & Fulham: PC Rachel Morrison
Haringey: PC Tegan Walker
Harrow: PC Steven Rea
Havering: PC Wayne Hopkins
Hillingdon: PC Jamie Frampton
Islington: PC Paul Shalan
Kensington & Chelsea: PC Charles Francis-Nwaka
Kingston Upon Thames: PC Dave Evans
Lambeth: PC Ian Wells
Lewisham: PC Sophie Oman
Merton: PC Sophie Lawrence
Newham: PC Ollie Prior
Redbridge: PC James Anderson
Richmond Upon Thames: PC Alicia Smith
Sutton: PC Mark Sullivan
Southwark: PC Kypros Kyriacou
Tower Hamlets: PC Hoss Siavoshy
Waltham Forest: PC Simon Owers
Wandsworth: PC Gina Bannerman
Westminster: PC Adam Knight



Steven Sweeney BSc (Hons), MSc

Metropolitan Police Service, Frontline Policing Delivery Unit, Youth Policy Team